Core Wisdom
← The DOccMed DOccMed

DOccMed approved courses: the seven FOM-approved providers and how to choose

You cannot sit the DOccMed without first completing a Faculty-approved Diploma Training Course, and as of 11 October 2026 the Faculty of Occupational Medicine lists seven providers. The content is fixed by the Faculty’s syllabus; what varies is format, timing, portfolio support and cost. Here is the list as published on fom.ac.uk, the rules that apply to every course, and the questions worth asking a provider before you pay.

Why the course is not optional

Regulation D2 of the DOccMed regulations requires a Faculty-approved course to be completed by the exam application closing date, with a copy of the certificate uploaded with the application. The Faculty’s guidance adds that candidates should attend at least 90% of the course, or provide other confirmation the Faculty has approved. The requirement applies even to doctors who already hold a Part 1 MFOM pass, which the regulations treat as a pass in the Diploma MCQ: the course is still compulsory. And the five-year window for passing both parts of the exam runs from the date you complete the course, so finishing it starts a clock as well as opening a door.

The seven providers the Faculty lists

The Faculty’s DOccMed page names these providers and asks candidates to contact them directly. Locations are given where the Faculty gives them.

ProviderWhere the Faculty places it
University of ManchesterManchester
University of Glasgow, Healthy Working Lives GroupGlasgow
Royal Society for Public HealthLondon
TOPHS LtdNottingham
Optima HealthNot stated
EOPHNot stated
Health Partners AcademyNot stated

Providers come and go from the list, and a course is approved by the Faculty rather than by its reputation, so check the current list on the Faculty’s DOccMed page before you book and keep a copy of the page. If a course you are offered is not on it, ask the provider for the Faculty’s confirmation of approval in writing.

What is the same everywhere

Every approved course teaches the Faculty’s syllabus, so you should not choose on content. The syllabus runs from the scope, ethics and law of occupational health through the effects of work on health (musculoskeletal, skin, respiratory and mental health, hygiene, toxicology, ergonomics and the physical environment), fitness for work, sickness absence, rehabilitation and health surveillance, to the practical skills of risk assessment, workplace visits and writing the portfolio. Every course leads to the same written paper, the same portfolio template and the same oral.

What to choose on

Timing against the registration window. The course has to be complete by the closing date, which on the 2026 pattern fell about eight weeks before the paper (for the November 2026 sitting, 5pm on 21 September). A course that ends in early autumn feeds the November paper; one that ends in late autumn feeds the following May. Work backwards from the sitting you want, not forwards from the next available start.

Format. Providers differ in whether teaching is in person, online or blended, in blocks or spread over months, and in how the 90% attendance rule is met for each. A GP with a fixed clinic pattern should ask how absences are handled before enrolling rather than after.

Portfolio support. The portfolio is a workplace assessment and a clinical case written to the Faculty’s template, and it is the part most candidates underestimate. Ask whether the course includes guidance on choosing and arranging a workplace visit, whether a tutor reads a draft, and whether past candidates had their portfolios ready in time for the sitting after the course. The portfolio template, section by section shows what good support should be helping you towards.

Exam preparation. Some courses include practice questions or a mock; some do not. Neither is a reason to choose a course, but it is worth knowing what you will need to add yourself.

Cost and funding. Course fees vary by provider and are not published by the Faculty. Get the full price including any exam-preparation or portfolio modules, ask your practice or employer about study budget before you commit, and remember the Faculty’s own fees come on top: £530 for the MCQ, £530 for the portfolio examination and £286 for the certificate in the 2026/27 schedule.

Travel and cohort. A face-to-face course in Manchester, Glasgow, London or Nottingham means travel; an online course means none, but also less of the peer group that can carry a candidate through the portfolio months. The Society of Occupational Medicine runs DOccMed support for candidates, which partly fills that gap whichever format you choose.

Questions to ask a provider

  • When does the course end, and which exam sitting’s registration window does that allow for?
  • How is attendance recorded, and what happens if I miss a day?
  • Is the workplace visit for the portfolio arranged, supported or left to me?
  • Does a tutor read a draft portfolio, and how many times?
  • What is the total fee, and what does it include?
  • When will I receive the course certificate I need to upload with my exam application?

How this fits the platform

Whichever course you choose, the written paper is the same, and the DOccMed question bank is built for it: 1,000 best-fit questions across twelve modules mapped to the Faculty’s syllabus, three fixed 80-question papers and a random timed mock. Our twelve-week plan starts where the course ends, and the timeline from course to certificate shows how the pieces fit. You can try ten questions free.

Core Revision is independent and not affiliated with the Faculty of Occupational Medicine or any course provider.

Written by Dr David Palethorpe, MBBS, BSc (Hons), MRCGP

Co-Founder & GP Partner, Core Revision

David is an NHS GP Partner who writes questions for Core Revision’s GP diploma banks and reviews questions across the wider content, mapping to current UK guidance and the RCGP curriculum. Special interests: medical statistics, palliative care and evidence-based medicine.

Last updated 26 October 2026 · Full profile · About the Core Revision team

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *